american, not american, american

2006-04-28 | 6:46 p.m.

now i. . .
my head is full
my stomach: sick
my hands are made of lead
undermanned
underpaid
and surely overfed

now what
if i purposed to gain?
a millionaire is
like a gutter in the rain
they
could be gutters in the rain.

if i was famous. everyone
would tell me what all of my words
meant.
i am not. they say "you cannot speak and you cannot believe" in anything.
nothing to believe.
"when you grow up you must tell others what to believe."

how much would it cost to live by a telescope on a hill?
will those stars say "shame on you. for eating your food. while others are hungry."
"for nobody knows. the world like we do. cos we own it all."

this is a one way street, kid
why are you out so late
you dont know what your sayin'
kid

tell me what i am saying

tell me what i am saying

i drowned in the ocean i was swallowed by the sea for miles and miles thats all i could see

steal. dont steal. steal. dont steal.

still,
i should have learned to swim.