the pitiful plea

2004-05-08 | 6:08 p.m.

(Dear God,)

It�s getting lonely, as you can see

From my wishful thinking of who is to be

And I don�t know why I always mean

That horrid expression: it�s not you, It�s me.

Why I�m never what they want me to be

Why I pilfer my land and refuse to leave

Why I never hear and they never see

Why I�m drowning in my own false iniquities

Why the boys around me seem so far away

Like I could reach, and not touch them for days

I�m a spinning fountain of burning ash

Blinding who looks and who ventures to pass

Like a failing cycle or runaway whore

I was fashioned for something decidedly more

I�m always fighting till I barely can stand

Too tired to wash the blood off my hands

Before these words meanings are lost in the dust

Of a heart barely beating and spoiled by lust

The point I�m stressing is hardly a must

And nothing compared to your infinite just

It�s just getting a bit lonely� and now I can see

The hand of my quandary points squarely at me

Faithfully yours,

The pitiful plea